Updates

I attempt to get online two days a week. The days I have off from work, but lately I have neglected blog posts, my apartment is a mess and the laundry has piled up.

By the time I get home, all I want to do is take off my shoes, sit down and either read for an hour or if I’m too tired to read, I’ll watch an old video on the computer until I’m ready to fall asleep.

The upside of this are the people I’ve met lately. I did not realize how lacking in social interaction I was until thrust into the midst of it. Two months ago, my daily routine included going for a walk/run, visiting the library, a bit of internet/social media and writing.

Now, in the new position (at the university) I have to interact daily with co-workers, supervisors and students. There are challenging moments, but to be honest, I’m grateful for this experience. The people working at the university are a diverse crowd from other states and countries and have great stories.

There is Betty, a woman nearly eighty years old, who works through the week, serving students at our main Exhibition food station. By watching her, you would never guess her age. She’s quick, hustling to get everything she needs to set up her station and after the dinner rush, doesn’t hesitate to break everything down and begins the hard labor of cleaning.

Mrs. Casey is also elderly and refuses to retire. The matron of the pots and pans area, she labors over the sink from the wee hours of the morning until 3 P.M. She’s done this for fifteen years and says that things have changed too much for her liking. There are too many students and we’re using too many pans.

Adam, who reminds me of my oldest grandson. He’s a socially awkward, workstudy student. Tall, thin, has been sheltered most of his life–homeschooled and isolated (I think), but attempting to obtain an engineering degree. He’s quiet, appears lost much of the time, not quite sure what he’s supposed to do next, but figuring it out, on his own.

Every time I see him, I’m glad he’s hanging in. He hasn’t quit yet and I hope he’ll tell me of a new adventure, or some girl he’s met.

A couple of people were displaced by Hurricane Katrina and somehow ended up here.

I think there are times, it is so good to be back in the world to listen to stories of others. Writers and artists get locked into their own stories and the imagined worlds they create and sometimes forget reality beckons. Tales of humanity are out there.

=================

More recent news:

I’m also taking an online Permaculture class, have volunteered to maintain a local garden in exchange for fresh veggies and am still trying to keep up with running.

Taria of the Dead is on hold. I just don’t have the mental and creative energy to write a novel right now. Despite this, I feel good about recent changes. It’s not easy, but it’s fulfilling.

4 thoughts on “Updates

  1. The stories of real people are as interesting, if not more, of works of fiction; this is true. It reminds us of the humanity within us all and the humaneness that still exists in the world.

Leave a Reply

