Writer’s Life #1

Recently I read the book 1Q84 by Haruki Murakami. Though I’m usually a quick reader, it took me two week to get through this tome.

Why? Murakami writes densely. That is, he packs so much information into his sentences, economizing on verbiage, it takes a bit longer to get through more than 900 pages.

I liked the book, because the story truly transports the reader into another universe.

Another book I’m currently reading, Ghost on the Wall by Tom Lichtenberg, though much shorter, is much more enjoyable. I’ve just started the work, but already I’m hooked. This is the best of Lichtenberg’s work that I’ve read, and I’ve read quite a bit.

The language is graphic, symbolic, descriptive and raw. There are aspects of life that make us cringe when we see them, sometimes turn away, but Lichtenberg doesn’t allow it. He requires us to look at it straight on and deal.

Work hard and you’ll work hard, that was his own grim motto, and he did his share. He hauled and he lifted, he carried and he fetched, he stocked and he drove, he helped the products of the world find their way around in it, from factory to warehouse, from warehouse to store, from store to dwelling, from homes to landfill, the cycle of life in cardboard and plastic and metal.

The work is reminiscent of Saramago, though there is something reminiscent of Marquez’s, Love in the Time of Cholera there. But of course, I haven’t read through the entire work yet… More on this when I’m done reading.

In other news: I’m over 13,000 words on Taria and happily tapping out at least a thousand words a day. Hoping to find the right editor for Taria by the end of the month and still looking for an artist familiar with conceptual work.

6 thoughts on “Writer’s Life #1

  1. Thanks for the nice words about the “ghost” story. It’s especially welcome right nwo because a number of my stories have been generating a stream of bad reviews lately on Amazon and Goodreads. It gets tiresome. Of course, i did give Murakami a bad review earlier this year (i got really tired of his sex-doll treatment of female characters in The Wind-Up Bird Chronicles), so maybe it’s just karma :}

  2. Tom, my pleasure. It’s a great story. This particular story sounds a bit different than your others. The language more artful. Crafted, I think and a real pleasure to read. I have not read the Wind-Up Bird Chronicles, so I’ll reserve judgement. There are some parts in 1Q84 that we could have done without.

  3. Hi Carla,

    Thanks for the pingback! I’m new to blogging, so really appreciate it 🙂 It’s great to make contact and looking forward to talking more about books and writing.

    Imogen

Leave a Reply

