Something about Taria

Natasha Irons; Comic Vine illustration.

Natasha Irons; Comic Vine illustration.

The writing project, Taria of the Dead is a unique, original story about a Black female superhero, or heroine. Though there have been other Black super heroines, there have not been many (of significance). In fact, the most notable, would be Storm of the X-men series (Marvel comics).

Taria is not a comic book character. I have created her as a fictional human character who has enhanced capabilities granted to her from another realm, she doesn’t quite understand.

This is a work in progress and moving along quite well, though a bit slower than I would like. Writers do have to make a living and this particular author is now spending much of her time looking for “real” work in the real world.

Still, I am excited about this project and expect to have it completed sometime in November or December 2013 with the finished product ranging from 60K – 70K words.

This also means I am pushing the Nexus II: Home project back to being released in February 2014.

In the meantime, I’m trying to come up with ideas for looks to this character. Though I’ve described her personality and defined her character pretty well in the first part of the work, she defies my physical descriptions. It’s as if She is too big (or her concept is?) for me to put her into physical form–if that makes sense.

Anyway, I’m also working on creating a document or video series on the making of Taria, though I’m hard-pressed to come up with the artwork for the cover of this work…

I know I haven’t posted much lately, but there is more to come soon.

Leave a Reply

