Writerly Resolutions – 2013

new_year_noise_maker_colorI don’t like to make resolutions, because I fear I’ll fall back on them, but I think these are a variety that can be a guide rather than something absolutely adhered to.

Regardless, I’m making them and looking forward.
1. No schedules.

Though I like schedules, it seems whenever I start one, everything changes. A family member calls with an emergency, long-lost friends tend to show up on my doorstep, the landlord suddenly needs to gut the apartment.

So I stopped with the schedule and just write when I can. It means one short story or a thousand words per day and rewriting and editing the novel, Nexus.

2. Morning writing.

Sometimes morning, sometimes night. Whatever works, whatever feels right.

That’s my motto for this next year. I would be happy if I can keep up the thousand word days, every day. At the end of one year that’s either 365 stories or 365,000 words.

3. Stay hopeful.

I will remain hopeful to continue as a full-time writer despite dismal sales and low response. The occasional positive comments and feedback I receive keep me going.

4. Word hoarding.

This past year I concentrated on storytelling, but I think for the coming year, I could use a grammar review and begin word hoarding once again.

What is word hoarding? Reading the dictionary. Improving vocabulary. Writing down and using words I’ve never used before. There are more than 200,000 words in the English language and the average person only uses ten-thousand. I’m at about twenty-thousand. Can you imagine if you could use half of the words in our language comfortably?

How often do you use pasquinade?

5. Reading variety.

This past year, I’ve concentrated mostly on fiction in my reading. I spent so many years reading non-fiction just to get through classes and for research, when I had time to read again, I inhaled the fiction.

This next year, I will vary my reading habits. I’m not saying I won’t pick up the next book by Atwood as soon as it hits the shelves, but I will start looking through the science sections at the library and local bookstore.

Introspective thought for the day and completely unrelated to the article above:

Be assured, the person beating you over the head with the certainty that you are not the most important person in the universe; is in all likelihood the most important person in their universe.

6 thoughts on “Writerly Resolutions – 2013

  1. All good resolutions! Definitely stay hopeful. One of the great things about self-publishing is there’s no time limit, no expiration date, no bookstores ripping off the covers for returns and tossing the books in the trash! I know you’re committed and engaged and you write really good and interesting stories and write them well. As for the future, you know the old cliche, “nothing is written”? I used that on my son the other day and he said, “um, dad, lots of things are written!”

  2. See, I was actually thinking of going the opposite way and forcing myself to follow a schedule. I did that for about a week back in September, and I accomplished almost obscene amounts of work/writing. Then I got a part time job and everything went to hell in a handbasket. But I think that schedules actually help me get things done, whereas you clearly have the opposite problem 🙂

  3. I think every writer is different. We have to work out our own way of production. With the NaNoWriMo challenge, I was incredibly productive, but I knew I only had to do it for a month.

    Now, no matter what time of day or night, as long as I get my work done by midnight, I’m good. That’s the editing work right now and a short story or a thousand words per day… It works for me.

  4. 🙂 Smart boy that one. I like the freedom of independent publishing, but it would be nice to have a bit more security in this business.

    Just gonna keep at it. And in twenty years when I’m sitting her at my kitchen table tapping out the 2033 resolutions, let’s hope I’m not saying the same things. 😛

  5. Do you write it down whever you get an idea, whether that is a new story idea or an idea about a current story you are writing? Even when you are not sitting down to write exactly, you have written something that you can incorporate later into a story or into the story you are currently working on.

    Using the dictionary to increase vocabulary is a great idea. I do this myself. I’ve also studied etymology, which is great for imaginative use of concepts.

    Good luck with your writing in the coming year. I can’t wait to read what you come up with. 🙂

  6. Thank you Niko! On story ideas, I have a little file on the computer called chimp docs. Can’t remember why I called it that, but it’s a file with different word combinations, ideas, etc.

    You’re right on incorporating an idea for a story later. The other night I was editing and had a great idea to incorporate a bad guy in Nexus. I use a notebook I keep handy for that. I also keep a pen on me at all times. Even if I don’t have paper, if an idea hits me, I’ll write it on my hand.

    I love etymology, but I haven’t worked at it enough to know what the heck I’m talking about. I know just enough to get me into trouble. 🙂

Leave a Reply

