This Week (Beginning 9/30)

Reading

Winter Moon by Dean Koontz. Though I was disappointed in the last work I read by Koontz, (77 Shadow Street) I thought I’d give Winter Moon a try. Unfortunately it’s not much better, though it is more his normal style of writing the former work.

I read through the book, but wish I wouldn’t have. Normally I would go through a book like this in a day or less. It took three days to suffer through it. Mostly, because of the preachy narration and clichéd plot. 2 of 5 stars.

Writing

Re-writing some of HISS for Smashwords edition and working on Smartware.

Movies

In television: Fringe, season 5, episode 2. In Absentia is the episode that kicks us into the new season. We now know the tapes the Fringe team has to find, are the keys to saving humanity. We also know the Observers are doing some very strange things with their captives. Disembodied heads, still alive? Well, I guess it’s just in time for Halloween…

Cool Moments

Swearing to secrecy, I and a few others were allowed a sneak peek at the new Perihelion (at the Beta site). It was AWESOME. I can’t reveal details, but if you had an idea about what to expect, put that aside. On the 12th of next month (November) you are going to be treated to a very cool fanzine that has come of age.

Random thoughts

I think there are times we need to step back from our work (if we can) and think about what we’re doing. It’s been three weeks since I’ve published Two, and though I’ve attempted to start a larger project, my mental energy is exhausted.

It’s time to take a breather.   meditation

I’ve been continually busy since mid-January. But now I’m gearing up for and dreading National Novel Writing Month in a little more than 24 days. So for now, I’m settling into that idea, writing what I can and getting in some much needed reading.

I’ve also been working quite a bit with different types of images and playing around with some of the features of the Paint.net program.

Most of the digital art I make is created just for the fun of it. I like manipulating images and working with text, which might say something about my typesetting background.

compu_framed  Not long after the dinosaurs disappeared, some of us in the printing industry used a large pre-Apple machine called the Compugraphic. The type was coded in and printed out on film rather than paper. The quality… well, the printing we have today does not match what we did then. Even with the best laser printers.

Anyway… some of the things you see on the blog are products of my tinkering.

Professor Extraordinarius will be posting sometime this next week. I’m not sure what he’s posting, because he said he’s not yet finished with it, but lately, when I see him at the coffee shop, he kind of snickers at me, so I’m guessing it’s something particularly offensive…

right_quote  Rest is not idleness, and to lie sometimes on the grass under the trees on a summer’s day, listening to the murmur of water, or watching the clouds float across the sky, is by no means a waste of time. –John Lubbock, English biologist and politician.

 

Leave a Reply

