Character Interview – Amanda Denton

The Interview with Amanda is the product of my frustration of not really developing her fully in the next installment of the Evo-Digital series. Every time I attempted to write her in, I came up against a wall. I knew all her negative deeds of the past, but I didn’t know what her real motivations were. WHO she really is. This helped. I had never done a character interview before, so I guess it was high time…

Enjoy.

Me: Amanda, why don’t you tell us who you are?

Amanda: Who I am. That’s difficult, because there are so many facets to a human being. We are many things, made up of so many different experiences, not only the sum of our environmental experiences, but also shaped by those who have come before us.

Me: Why not give us a brief description of who you are today? Perhaps a simplistic version?

Amanda: Alrighty then. I can try. I immediately come to the fact that I am a scientist, but that wouldn’t be completely accurate. My profession or role in my father’s corporation has been as scientist, but that is not my only role. And I am not only my profession, though my profession defines me, or seems to define almost the whole of who I am.

Me: What about your relationships with other people? Don’t the relationships in your life define who you are? The people you love and who love you? If you were standing in front of the Temple at Delphi and read ‘Know Thyself’ and had to discuss this with someone like Socrates, what would you tell him? What if he asked you who you were?

Amanda: (laughs, smiles)
Relationships are complicated. I prefer to have as brief contact as possible with most people, but some relationships are inevitable; like the relationships we have with our parents. Though we can cut those ties to our relatives, there are those invisible strings. They have a hold on us from birth, regardless of the severing we do. They have shaped us, made us from part of their experiences. Yes, to answer your question, the relationships in my life do define me to some degree. My mother I never really knew. She died when I was very young and my father raised me with the help of a couple of nannies. I love my father and I know he loves me. If it was not for him, I would not be the scientist and developer that I am. I respect his work. At the same time, if we’re to be completely honest, my father has shaped me in some negative ways.

me: how so?

Amanda: Calvin; Dad, if I must, is a narcissist. He does not recognize this. He’s a closet narcissist. It’s not something he can acknowledge. When I was a child, he was almost always working, but when we did spend time together his attitude toward me was one of degreed disappointment. There are levels of criticism and he managed to move up and down the scale depending upon his mood. His approval took some considerable work and still, I’m not sure I ever got the approval I wanted (at one time). I know at some point I let it go. I knew that he was the most important thing/person in his life and his mind the brightest, no one could ever measure up to calvin denton

me: wow. What about your relationship with him as an adult? I mean, are you friends? Do you speak? What is your interaction like?

Amanda: We don’t have much of a relationship and I don’t think either of us care about it. He sees me as a reflection of him, just because I am his daughter and in that he’s proud of my accomplishments, because he believes they make him shine.

Are we friends? Hardly. Calvin is my boss. He’s my mentor to some degree, but that doesn’t mean I like him. He’s not a real likable fellow. We speak when we have to, but our relationship is uncomfortable for both of us. We’re familiar with the warm fuzzy images of father-daughter relationships, but we’re not that and that makes both of us cringe inwardly. Our interaction is awkward and uncomfortable.

me: Don’t you think you missed something in that? Do you long to have a real father-daughter relationship?

Amanda: Not really. At one time I did. By my late teens I had reached the stage in our relatioship in which i was always angry with him. When we did speak I did everything i could to make him uncomfortable. Early adulthood brought the realization of just who my father is. A certain respect, but also the understanding that I am his daughter. I have many benefits just from the luck of being his offspring. Did I miss something? Yes. Definitely. Calvin Denton kept me from my father. Do I long to have that relationship re-established? Absolutely not! I work for my father, but as I said before, I don’t like the man.

me: So, what are your goals in life Amanda? You’ve developed the mentachip, smartware… what’s next? Are you happy with life?

Amanda: Next goal: take over the world! (laughs). Hmmm… well, I think I would like to get the flow up to speed (so to speak). I’m attempting to get as many customers as have come to the internet, into the flow. We want it to be a complimentary service, but the company can’t afford to implant everyone, so we’re asking for government and organizational assistance. I am of the belief that the flow spontaneously generated from the mentachip, as an organic type communication system. It’s a tool for change in the way we interact and a way in which we can unite nations, end wars, live in peace.

Humanity on Earth can be of one mind. We would all work toward one goal. Do you know how incredible that would be?

Me: what would that one goal be though?

Amanda: to reach out of course! Once we have everyone on board, not only would we work to keep that system in place, but our main purpose in life would be to expand and make life easier for humans. We would move out into the star systems. Colonize other planets. It’s about time.

How long has it been since we’ve had any space exploration?

me: Well, yes, the last mission was in 2014. We do go into orbit around the earth because of our satellites, but…

Amanda: Exactly! We haven’t searched for other intelligent life really. We have the technology to send probes to other parts of our galaxy, outside our galaxy even, but we haven’t done it. It’s time don’t you think? We have a burgeoning population…more than 8 billion now, don’t you think it’s time we attempt to colonize. Either that or the governments of the world are going to come to the conclusion that we have to eliminate a portion of the population.

me: ouch.

Amanda: Yeah, I know. But am I right or what? (smiles). Of course I am. We all know it, but don’t say it. It’s not something we want to admit, but something must be done.

Hunger from poverty here in the states is terrible. At one time, no one would have believed that it could reach the proportions it has, but look around. I’m not a humanitarian. Don’t get me wrong… I don’t like most people, but I also don’t like seeing the world as it is. It could just as easily be me or you out there. Things need to change.

me: Okay then. You do sound like a humanitarian. If not, what’s the motivation behind all of this… this concern with the human condition.

Amanda: self-preservation. When people become hungry, their children are starving, they rebel and the ruling classes, those in power are killed off. I don’t want to be one of those who are publicly executed because I happen to be born into wealth and privilege. Instead, I’m going to do whatever I can to change the conditions. I want life to move in favor of me.

Me: One last thing Amanda. Many people know you as a kind of villainess. In the last episode of Evo-Digital series, you treated Danielle and Patty terribly. Can you talk about that a bit?

Amanda: I did not treat Danielle and Patty “terribly” as you say. They signed up for the tests and everything that went along with that. We were testing the MentaChip when we found out about the Flow. We had some idea that something else was going on, but we needed to test to understand the phenomenon. Danielle was a threat to the whole system…A system by the way that will save humanity. Is one person’s life worth so much as to allow her to bring about the fall of our species? I don’t think so. Patty’s condition was an accident. I cannot be blamed for that. Would I behave the same way today knowing the consequences? Yes I would. There’s a higher purpose here. I’m attempting to save our species and our planet.

Me: Well, I think some people would argue with that. You could have let the volunteers know the whole scope of threat involved and you did not. More, you could have spoken to Danielle and told her what was at risk. I think most of us agree volunteers have that right. I hope you have learned from this experience and can make better choices next time around.

Amanda: (smiles slyly) I guess we’ll see, won’t we?

Leave a Reply

