Projects for 2012

Now that Pink Eye is available for purchase via Smashwords, I’m learning a little of the marketing part of publication. I’m using the Smashwords Style Guide by Mark Coker and from what I gather it’s a tough road. Even with the best marketing most authors don’t sell a whole lot of books, simply because there is so much competition.

I think most writers keep plugging away at it, hoping to make a living one day because we have that creative bug and we love seeing that final product and hope others enjoy perusing it as much as we love creating it.

This year I would like to complete the illustrations for Wee People and make it available online as well as in print.

I don’t have much skill as a digital artist, so my initial work on this project are rudimentary digital sketches to go along with the text. The sketches are simple and give the reader/viewer a good understanding of the message I’m attempting to convey, but still not the professional quality I would like for a children’s book.

I’m working on my skills in this area, but would really appreciate tips or suggestions. If anyone would like to know more about the Wee People project, shoot me an email at starvingartist0 at yahoo dot com.

The Greenie Books are children’s books centered on the population of Greenville and a character named Greenie.

Greenville is an eco village where Greenie and his friends live, learning and teaching about Earth care and environmental stewardship.

The texts completed so far are, Greenie Meets the Litterbug and Greenie Learns about Recycling.

As in the Wee People Project, I’m struggling with the artwork. With luck and a lot of work, I’ll have these ready for print and internet publication by the end of the year.

I would like to make the Greenie books free for educators/schools working with children on ecology, environmental care and creative problem solving skills.

If you would like to know more about the Greenie Books or have suggestions/recommendations, send me an email at starvingartist0 at yahoo dot com.

Leave a Reply

