On not waiting

Finishing the novel, I thought something big would change in the universe. I expected a change in perception. Perhaps mental fireworks.

Instead, I thought about format. All things structural. “Is it right? Are there mistakes I haven’t found?”

I have to create the synopsis. Write a cover letter. Send it to publishers. Wait. But it is not the writer’s job to wait. It is the writer’s job to write. So I write the synopsis, the cover letter, send it out and do not wait.

I write more. On to the next. If something happens with that one–the thing I’ve finished, well good. Let it be.

Leave a Reply

